Favorite Movie

Image

I am an avid reader of Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay. The first time I picked up one of his book was when I was in sixth grade. Since then I’ve read and re-read many of his novels. To me there’s still no better entertainment than reading one of his book. I love being lost in one of the villages or towns of his stories or maybe sometimes in one of the many fascinating character he created. In India and Bangladesh it has become an obsession by the movie makers to adapt one of his very famous novel “Devdas”. This novel is pretty much adapted once every decade either in India or Bangladesh. Among many of the adaptations of this novel I like the one directed by Sanjay Lila Bansali and starred by Shahrukh Khan, Aishwarya Rai, and Madhuri Dixit along with few other great actor and actresses. I am not sure how I liked this movie because usually people who read the book and like it, don’t like the movie adaptation of that book. This movie is also not very accurate portrait of the book. The screenwriter took the liberty to change many dialogues and scenes as he saw fit to the story. Yet, I fell in love with this movie! This movie has become one of my most favorite movies of all time. In the beginning I used to sit there and actually watch the whole three hours of the movie. But now I skip here and there but still go back to watching this movie when I find myself wondering what to do. I think even if someone doesn’t like the story or doesn’t know the language , they can just sit there and indulge on the great visuals of this movie. There was no movie like this where the great music, dance, and beauty came together so perfectly.

